Entrance to the Rock House

Entrance to the Rock House

It’s been a busy few weeks, and I’ve been able to get to some interesting places. I’ve been writing pretty regularly for Digital Journal and I haven’t gotten around to blogging. I’ll do my best to catch up.

Working backwards, I went for a hike at the Rock House Reservation in West Brookfield, Mass., the other day. It’s easy to get to, just off Route 20 and well worth a visit. It’s a Trustees of Reservations property, so you can be sure it’s a quality place.

At the information kiosk near the parking area, I picked up a map and chose a looping trail that would eventually take me to the Rock House. There are about 3 miles of trails, easy to moderate walking, that wind through a boulder-strewn forest of mixed pine and hardwood, typical of central New England.

When I got to the area where the Rock House was supposed to be, I was confused. There wasn’t anything that looked like a building, other than the Trailside Museum on the other side of a small pond.

As it turns out, Rock House is an enormous overhanging ledge surrounded by huge boulders that form a large, almost fully-enclose shelter that could easily accommodate a dozen or more people.

In fact, that’s just what it’s been used for. There’s evidence that it was used by Native Americans as a hunting camp as much as 8,000 years ago. There’s a lot more to see. I’m planning on going back.

It’s open year-round, sunrise to sunset, and it’s free.

