If I had to pick one, I’d say the first day of fall is my favorite day of the year.

The sluggishness of summer is behind me. The air is brisk, energizing. I want to get out and do things.

The foliage change is just beginning, mostly among the swamp maples that turn a brilliant red and suddenly stand out against the other foliage that’s still green. Elsewhere you see a few dabs of color here and there. The peak is still a couple of weeks away.

New Year’s Day is a famous time for making resolutions – starting new projects, getting old ones done. Some people think of the first day of spring – a time of rebirth and new beginnings.

For me it’s this time of the autumnal equinox, to look back at what I’ve done then re-focus and look ahead. I’m excited by what I’m doing, and can’t wait to get to it.

 

 

A swamp maple begins to turn red

A swamp maple begins to turn red

