DSCN0777I like nothing better than to come across something unexpected.

That’s just what happened on one of those warm afternoons last week when I was taking a leisurely walk around Coggshall Park in Fitchburg, Mass. I had been taking one of the trails through the woods and came down to the pond at the heart of the park. Most of it was still frozen over. A few geese were standing on the ice near a strip of open water. A pair of mallards were napping on a rock in the sun.

I went closer to the mallards to get a photo when I spotted something moving under the water at the edge of the ice nearby – a fairly good-sized painted turtle. I wouldn’t have thought a turtle would be active yet, with the pond still covered with ice. But there he was.

Turtles are cold-blooded reptiles – ectotherms – meaning their body temperature varies according to the ambient temperature around them. The warmer the temperature the more active they become; the colder the temperature, the more sluggish.

Later, I looked it up in a few sources, and true enough, turtles go mostly dormant during the winter, but they have been known to move around occasionally. Apparently the sun had warmed the water up just enough to get this turtle going.

