Late afternoon snowshoeing

Late afternoon snowshoeing

 

Today is officially the last day of a very long winter. It’s been several years since I can remember a continuous snow cover from November to now, and it won’t be disappearing anytime soon.

Just yesterday I was snowshoeing at the High Ridge wildlife management area in Westminster. There’s still more than a foot of hard-packed snow on the ground. Nevertheless, there are still signs of spring.

The days are much longer, and generally milder. This allows for leisurely afternoons of snowshoeing and skiing. The robins that spend the winter in the swamp below my house have moved up to the open fields at the top of the hill. I heard my first red-winged blackbird call out with it’s distinctive trill.

Sugaring season has been delayed. It takes a combination of cold nights and warm days to get a good flow going. We’ve certainly had the cold nights, but not the warm days. Things do seem to be getting milder, and once it gets going the result may be a better than average season for both quantity and quality.

The continuous snow cover also bodes well for wild blueberries, and I’m looking forward to a bumper crop in a few months. For now, I’m going to take advantage of the longer daylight and milder temperatures to get out as much as I can.

