I decided to go check out the logging work in the area around Overlook Reservoir and the Flat Rock Sanctuary in Fitchburg. I was pleasantly surprised by what I found. The brush piles and other debris had all been cleared away. Plenty of trees had been left standing, and the cleared areas offered what amounted to an entirely new landscape.

I have to admit it was a bit jarring to walk through an area where I had been hundreds of times before only to feel that I was in a completely strange place. The slight fog that had settled over the snow added to the sense of other-worldliness.

Now that the heavy canopy that had once covered the forest floor has been opened up, it’ll be interesting to see what kind of vegetation comes up this spring. Hopefully we’ll see broad patches of wild blueberries, like the ones farther up the hill.

New look at Overlook Reservoir

New look at Overlook Reservoir

