Some of my favorite wildflowers are found in the woods, early in the spring before the leaves are fully out, blocking the sunlight. On one of those bright, sunny mornings we had during spring vacation, I decided to head out to the Wachusett Meadows Wildlife Sanctuary in Princeton  to see what I could find.

At first I was a little disappointed. There were plenty of plants developing along the trails, but none were quite ready to blossom. I came to a trail called the Brook Loop Trail, clearly marked but not on my map. Not a surprise, that map’s probably been sitting in my pack for years. I was richly rewarded.

A Red Trillium at Wachusetts Meadows    

 

 

    A Red Trillium

 

 

 This Red Trillium was on the hillside just above the brook. It also goes by the name Wake Robin. I once read somewhere that it got the name because it blossoms when robins begin to nest. Nice story, but perhaps not especially accurate.

 

 

                                                                                                 A Trout-Lily along the Brook Loop trail

 There were a lot of Trout-Lilies, like this one, along the side of the brook. Starflowers were also out, and bellworts.

As an added bonus, a pair of Pileated Woodpeckers kept flitting from tree to tree just ahead of me, never stopping in one place long enough for me to get a good picture, though I did get a good look at them through my binoculars.

