I never thought about bats much before. If I did, I generally regarded them as spooky, coming out at dusk, flitting through the night sky. I had a rousing time late one night chasing one out of a cabin I was staying in.

Later in life, as I learned more about them and became more familiar with them and their life-histories, I became more interested.

Now they may soon be gone. White Nose Syndrome has killed off somewhere between 80 and 90 percent of the bats around here – mostly the little brown bat.

It doesn’t bode well for us.

A bat eats about a third of its body-weight in insects – mostly mosquitoes – every day. They keep those populations under control. Now, we stand to lose them, just as we become more and more concerned about emerging insect-borne diseases, such as West Nile Virus, Eastern Equine Encephalitis, and others.

Will we have to soak our neighborhoods with pesticides to make up for the loss? Will we enter a cycle of applying stronger and more toxic pesticides as the insects become more tolerant and resistant?

