Once again I’m sitting here, watching the rain, looking out over my back yard, the birches and maples still leafless, and pools of water forming where I’ve never seen them before. Earlier I was trying to think when was the last time I’ve seen such steady rain. Last summer was grey and rainy, but the amount of rainfall wasn’t all that much. Not like this. Then the weather report confirmed it. It’s been a hundred years since we’ve had this much rainfall in a single three-week period. I may be old, but I’m not that old.

It was only a few years ago that we were going through a dry spell. There were smaller brooks drying up during the summer. Swamps were shrinking. There was concern that we were using more water than our watershed could replenish. We’re not hearing about that anymore.

Now there’s a good-sized pond in the swamp down below, full of peepers. Migrating ducks and geese are using it for a stopover. Beavers have settled in.

I can’t wait to get out and see what’s new down there.

