I came across a few signs of hope toay. First, I read a report that the Commonwealth of Massachusetts wants to build some wind turbines on the campus of Mount Wachusett Community College. That school, by the way, has done a lot of innovative work in green technologies, but more on that another time. Lately, a lot of places near me have been toying with the idea of solar panels and wind turbines … even the principal at the school where I teach was asking about the feasiblity of something like that for our school. That will be fodder for this blog for sometime … maybe fodder for a separate blog.

 

But there’s still work to be done. I teach something called Technology Education, and today I asked a group of 5th and 6th graders if they knew anything about Earth Day. Not a single one had heard of it. Clearly we have a lot of work to do.

